Graham Bell Water Speed Record

Graham Bell Water Speed Record

Alexander Graham Bell, who invented the telephone, also set a world water-speed record of over seventy miles an hour at the age of seventy two.

More Sports Facts

Youngest Grandmaster in India

Parimarjan Negi is the youngest Grandmaster (GM) in India. Born on 9 February 1993, Parimarjan Negi became GM at the age of 13 years and 142 days on July 1, 2006. He is second youngest GM in the history of the game and the youngest of all the GMs currently in the game.

Parimarjan Negi also holds the record for being the world's youngest International Master (IM). He became IM at the age of 12 years, 10 months and 19 days. He is also the youngest to hold four IM norms. He was 10 years and 10 months at the time.

Parimarjan Negi is the youngest Indian to hold a GM norm in the Hastings International Chess Congress in 2006 at the age of 12 years and 330 days. He is also the youngest Indian to beat a Grandmaster when he scored over Switzerland's Ivan Nemet in the Biel Masters in 2004 at the age of 11 years five months.

India's First Grandmaster

Viswanathan Anand is India's first Grandmaster. He became Grandmaster (GM) in 1988 at the age of eighteen. Viswanathan Anand was born on December 11, 1969. He won the National Sub-Junior Chess Championship with a score of 9/9 in 1983 at the age of fourteen. Anand became the youngest Indian to win the International Master Title at the age of fifteen, in 1984. He won National Championship at the age of sixteen. In 1987, Anand became the first Indian to win the World Junior Chess Championship. Anand won the FIDE World Chess Championship in 2000 after defeating Alexei Shirov 3.5 - 0.5 in the finals at Teheran, and became the first Indian to do so. He is one of only four players in history to break the 2800 mark on the FIDE rating list.

Viswanathan Anand has won many awards and honours. He won Arjuna Award in 1985, Padma Shri in 1987, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 1991, and Padma Bhushan in the year 2000.

First Olympic Gold Medal Won by India

First Olympic Gold Medal Won by India was in 1928 Olympics in hockey. India defeated the host country Holland 3-0 in the finals. Legendary Dhyan Chand scored two goals in the final. Indian goalkeeper Richard Allen had the unique distinction of not conceding a single goal throughout the tournament. The gold medal won by the Indian hockey team in 1928 was the first Olympic gold medal won by Asia in the modern Olympics. India has won a total of eight gold medals in hockey at Olympics. From 1928 Amsterdam Olympics to 1956 Melbourne Olympics India won six consecutive gold medals at hockey. The two other gold medals for India came in the 1964 Tokyo Olympics and the 1980 Moscow Olympics.

Show More Sports Facts